1776 The Musical
1776 The Musical
Photo Credit: Jason Niedle
Great Hall (Directions & Parking)
$41–$96 (Prices subject to change)
** This is a past performance, this event was on February 8, 9 & 10, 2019 **

1776 The Musical
Music & Lyrics by Sherman Edwards
Book by Peter Stone
La Mirada Theatre for the Performing Arts
& McCoy Rigby Entertainment

The 1969 Tony Award-winner for Best Musical showcases Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson — the imperfect men who first strived for a more perfect union — in a gripping reminder that democracy has never been easy. Humor and drama in equal measure bring their lofty aspirations to life, building to a rousing conclusion that doesn’t leave a dry eye in the house.

Lin-Manuel Miranda and William Daniels Talk Hamilton, 1776, Mr. Feeny, and More
"It’s also, I think, one of the best books—if not the best—ever written for musical theatre, in that you long to see them talk to each other." —Lin Manuel Miranda, Playbill (Read More)

1776 Company (Photo: Jason Niedle)
James Barbour (Edward Rutledge) and Company (Photo: Jason Niedle)
Caleb Shaw (Thomas Jefferson), Peter Van Norden (Benjamin Franklin), and Andy Umberger (John Adams) (Photo: Jason Niedle)
1776 Company (Photo: Jason Niedle)
Peter Van Norden (Benjamin Franklin), Ellie Wyman (Martha Jefferson), and Andy Umberger (John Adams) (Photo: Jason Niedle)
Michael Starr (Henry Lee), Peter Van Norden (Benjamin Franklin), and Andy Umberger (John Adams) (Photo: Jason Niedle)
Andy Umberger (John Adams) and Company (Photo: Jason Niedle)

Glenn Casale (Director)
Jeff Rizzo (Musical Director)
Stephen Gifford (Scenic Design)
Jared A. Sayeg (Lighting Design)
Leon Rothenberg & Phil Allen (Co-Sound Design)
Shon LeBlanc (Costume Design)
EB Bohks (Hair/Wig/Makeup Design)
Kevin Williams (Properties Design)
Julia Flores (Casting Director)
John W. Calder III (Production Stage Manager)
James Barbour as "Edward Rutledge"
Peter Van Norden as "Benjamin Franklin"
Andy Umberger as "John Adams"
Teri Bibb as "Abigail Adams"
Caleb Shaw as "Thomas Jefferson"
Ellie Wyman as "Martha Jefferson"
Nick Santa Maria as "John Hancock"
Peter Allen Vogt as "Samuel Chase"
Victor E. Chan as "Robert Livingston"
Brad Rupp as "George Read"
Gordon Goodman as "Stephen Hopkins"
Jason Chacon as "Dr. Josiah Bartlett"
Joey Ruggiero as "Joseph Hewes"
Jordan Goodsell as "Charles Thomson"
Jordan Schneider as "Dr. Lyman Hall"
Jotapé Lockwood as "Lewis Morris"
Matthew Kimbrough as "Colonel Thomas McKean"
Michael Dotson as "Roger Sherman"
Michael Rothhaar as "Andrew McNair"
Michael Starr as "Richard Henry Lee"
Michael Stone Forrest as "John Dickinson"
Mitchell McCollum as "Reverend John Witherspoon"
Ted Barton as "James Wilson"
Rodrigo Varandas as "Leather Apron/Painter"
Nick McKenna as "Courier"